Starting Over

24 Oct

I’ve been wanting to write for a while, and I figured the first day of the season for the USC Marathon Team would be a good time to start. I cannot describe how grateful I felt to be leading a run today, not only because I am lucky to be part of such an amazing group of people, but also because I didn’t think I would have the opportunity to run this season. For the past 6 months, I’ve been struggling with IT band syndrome (near the top of the list for nagging running injuries), and as I counted down the days until the start of the season, my hopes of training started to dwindle.

BUT, after 6 physical therapists, countless nights of stretching, strengthening, and foam rolling, and a little determination thrown in, I’m back on the roads.

Days of gingerly testing out the knee and waiting for that telltale shooting pain have taught me to appreciate running more than I ever knew I could. It is a part of me now, and one that I know I will never take for granted.

As I ran through the streets of LA this morning, listening to good music, catching up with my friend Esther, and soaking up the beautiful Cali weather, I felt alive.

Hopefully you’ll enjoy my thoughts on running and life as I follow my dreams of becoming a vet and running a marathon on every  continent. (But for now, I’m just hoping to make it though undergad 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

