A New Perspective

28 Oct

I’m currently taking a research methods class, for which I’m designing a study on the link between body image and running… but today I had the opportunity to look at research from the side of the participant. This morning I took part in a study called Emotions, Genes, and Health, which was considerably more thought provoking than expected. While I’m not entirely sure what the goal of the study is, or what they are hoping to find, the questions definitely provided me with some interesting insight that I wanted to share. The survey (which took a whopping 2 hours to complete!) asked about everything from drugs and alcohol to emotions, but the most interesting questions in my opinion were those that touched on life’s simple pleasures. I was asked to rank experiences, such as watching a sunset or listening to the rain, on a “pleasure scale,” and then do the same with photographs ranging from puppies and kittens to guns and starving children. While seemingly a bit abstract, this task reminded me of how important it is to take time to enjoy the little things, even amidst life’s craziness. For the rest of the day, I was noticeably more mindful of my surroundings – the sun on my skin, the wind in my hair, the squirrel chasing its pal. It seemed as though things had slowed down, not a lot, but just enough to notice. When life gets overwhelming, I often find myself forgetting the little things, but I was reminded today that it’s those little things that get you though in the end.

I was just reading the Runner’s World quotes of the day, and one of them ties in perfectly:

“There is no better way to experience a place than to run it. You get to experience the deep crevices of an area, the sense beyond the visual, something you would never do if you didn’t run.”
-Tawna MacNeil

Another totally random tidbit of information from today…just in case you were hoping to bring your grandfather clock to the moon, it won’t work because the period of oscillation changes due to the changing gravitation force. Gotta love physics. ☺

Leave a Reply

