Back up to Speed

11 Nov

I had an AMAZING run this morning – my first speed workout in 6 months! It felt soooo good to be back. Before the dreaded IT Band Syndrome struck, I used to do a tempo or interval workout on the treadmill every week. I would follow the lit up “track” on the monitor, sprinting the straightaways and jogging the curves, and I loved the rush of giving it everything I had.

I’ve been feeling somewhat burned out lately from my campus runs (maybe its the combination of bus stops and oncoming bikes that’s getting to me), so I decided to hit the track for a change of pace. The weather was perfect this morning – cool and overcast, even by 10:00 am when I finally got my butt out the door. I did a 2-mile warm-up, sprinted the straightaways and ran the curves for 2 miles, and then ended with a 2-mile cool down. I finished my 6 miles in 45:51, averaging a 7:38 min/mile pace, but more importantly, I felt exhilarated. I jogged around for a few minutes afterward, watching the varsity track runners, the Army ROTC members, and the weekend joggers, and I felt an overwhelming sense of belonging. I realized I haven’t felt this alive in a while.

It’s moments like these that remind me why I love running. Why I skip parties to get up at 6:00 am on a Sunday morning. Why I spent 6 months in physical therapy. Why I want to pace myself so I can keep going. And why I know I will never take it for granted.

I hope you all made an epic wish tonight. After all, it is only once in a lifetime that it’s 11:11 pm on 11/11/11 😉

Leave a Reply

