Thursday Thoughts

17 Nov

It suddenly hit me today that the semester is almost over…it’s strange how life seems to move so slowly in the moment and so quickly upon looking back. In my whirlwind of a week, I’ve made some interesting discoveries.

1)  I think I finally realized why I detest running outside here – I’m scared. It seems that every time I’m planning to go for a run around campus, I receive a notification from the Department of Public Safety. This one was sent on Tuesday night.

CRIME ALERT
The University Of Southern California Department Of Public Safety is providing this notice of a criminal incident that occurred in our community in order to provide information that may help in avoiding a similar crime or provide information to solve this crime.  This notice is also intended to meet the requirements of the “Timely Warning” provisions of the federal Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistic Act.

ROBBERY– Strong Arm

 DATE & TIME OF OCCURRENCE:  November 15th, 2011 at 11:30am

 LOCATION: 700 Block of W. 28th Street

REPORTED OFFENSE: Complainant stated he was walking westbound on 28th street when suspect approached him and stated he had a weapon (none seen) demanding complainant’s lunch.  The complainant complied.  The suspect fled eastbound on 28th Street.

The week before it was an armed robbery on Exposition St. (which I pass during my usual route). I have learned not to take my surroundings lightly and use extreme caution in my neighborhood because, as Spencer aptly put, “people do not always respect life here.” It is definitely disheartening.

2)   As much as I am a routine person, I need to fulfill my sense of adventure. I’ve been investigation the options for after graduation (in the likely event that I don’t get into vet school on the first try), and the possibilities are endless and exciting.

Some other highlights of the week:

  • My physics professor made ice cream with liquid nitrogen today. It was quite a show! While it looked rather toxic, (half & half, sugar, chocolate syrup, and a bubbling mass of hissing liquid) it apparently tasted quite good!
  • I discovered a new favorite dinner recipe: Roasted red pepper hummus, fresh spinach, baby tomatoes, and pepperoncinis wrapped in a whole-wheat tortilla. Delicious!

Off to finish writing up my results for my Body Image & Running research project – it’s almost done! Hope everyone is having a great week 🙂

2 Responses to “Thursday Thoughts”

  1. Victoria November 18, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    That paper sounds interesting- i wanna read it when you’re done!
    miss you girl ❤

  2. marathonmeg22 November 18, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Definitely! Hope you had a safe trip home! Miss you too ❤

Leave a Reply

