TGIF

18 Nov

I don’t know if I’ve ever said this before, but this morning was a perfect run. Despite going to bed at 4:00 am last night, I woke up strangely energized and ready to go. The weather was ideal, and I hit the track for another speed workout. I told myself I wasn’t going to push it if I was tired, but the moment I started running, I was on a high. I did another 2-2-2 workout (2-mile warm-up, 2 mile interval, 2-mile cool-down), and my average pace was 7:27 min/mile. I think it’s a personal record for 6 miles, but better than my time was the feeling that I could have continued running for quite a while longer (and probably would have enjoyed it too).

I was working on a group presentation last night on the effects of exercise on stress, and I came across an interesting article that seems quite fitting. As opposed to the common theme of the health benefits of exercise, this particular study, from the Journal of Perceptual and Motor Skills, addresses the effects of NOT running on people who were considered consistent runners. In summary, the authors determined that “Prevented Runners displayed significantly greater symptoms of psychological distress, including depression, anxiety, confusion, overall mood disturbance, and lower self-esteem than did Continuing Runners” (Chan & Grossman, 1988). I thought of my 6-month absence from running and realized that I fit this category of “Prevented Runners” quite well. Not only did my mood change as a result, but I felt like a piece of my identity was missing. I felt isolated and removed from the running community, and I can’t describe how it feels to be a part of it again.

We’re sharing this video as a part of our presentation, and it reminded of both the extreme adrenaline and extreme camaraderie at the start of a race.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uuWX2ASBFGk

Other highlights of the day – I finally finished the conclusion of my semester-long research project! Our research team presents our results next week…feels good to be almost done.

Happy Friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

