Reunited with J. Lo

20 Nov

Music is truly an amazing thing. Although I have always connected with it, I realized today just how strong its power can be. Last February, during a 22-mile run (the longest and most daunting of the season), J. Lo’s new hit, “On the Floor,” came on my ipod. For some reason, it put me in a zone I had never quite experienced before, and I listened to it a good 10 times before moving on to the next song. It was the most fun I’d ever had on a run, and despite the dread that had preceded that Sunday morning, it turned out to be one of my most memorable practices.

Following my IT band injury, I would hear “my running song” on the radio and would immediately shut it off. I deleted it from my ipod playlist. I took it off my phone. No matter where I was, I couldn’t stand to hear it and be reminded of what I couldn’t do. For six months, I avoided this song like the plague, trying to ignore the hollow pit in my stomach every time I heard it.

This morning was different though. After running the length of the Hermosa Valley Greenbelt trail, my teammates and I turned towards the beach and headed to the Manhatten Marina. As we ran along the coast, the familiar intro to “On the Floor” began to play through my headphones, and instinctively, I reached up and hit the “skip” button on my ipod. Then it hit me – I was running. I hit the “back” button and was suddenly flooded with memories of my 22-miler. I got a rush of energy, and everything felt lighter.

The run was beautiful and quite different than I remember it from last year. Time #1 was scorching hot, and my legs felt heavy and slow on the wood-chip trail. The weather this morning was perfect though – the air was cool and crisp, and there was just enough rain (or sprinkle rather) to feel pleasant. The trail was a welcome break for my legs, and I loved the feel of earth beneath my feet instead of unforgiving concrete.

I met several more new team members today as well, and I was surprised to find that many are vegan or vegetarian! I’m already planning an adventure to my fav vegan restaurant in Santa Monica – maybe after our next long run there.

Other food news: I invented a new postrun smoothie recipe that was quite delicious! It tasted like a milkshake.

Chocolate-Peanut Butter-Banana Dream

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup Arctic Zero – chocolate peanut butter flavor *(see ingredient note below)
  • 2 T. chocolate whey protein powder (I use Apex brand)

Add all ingredients to blender, and blend until smooth and creamy. YUM.

Serves 1

Calories: 200

*Arctic Zero is a recent discovery. It’s a whey protein “ice cream” that does not taste much like ice cream on its own but is delicious in smoothies.

Well it’s now 1:33 am, and my sore legs are telling me I should go to bed…but happy Monday everyone! It’s almost Thanksgiving 🙂

Leave a Reply

