The Countdown Begins

28 Nov

I can’t believe it’s almost the end of the semester! Only two-and-a-half more weeks ’til freedom!

This weekend was such a nice break though. Yesterday, I went for a beautiful 12-mile run along the coast, from Swami’s beach to Del Mar. It was brutally hot for 8:30 am in November, but still a great run nonetheless. It was the first time I’ve been back to my beach route since the knee injury, and the familiar landmarks I used as mile-markers became strangely nostalgic.

I spend the rest of the afternoon with Spencer, relaxing and eating, and then met up with my friend Sabrina for a sunset walk on the beach. The weather was perfect, and it felt so good to wade in the waves and catch up on life. Mental note – do this more often! Spencer and I went to Rico’s Taco shop (a local favorite) for dinner, and I had delicious veggie tacos. I keep telling myself I should make them at home, but there’s something about the way they make them that I know I’ll never be able to replicate.

This morning, Spencer and I woke up and made breakfast, and then I headed back to LA LA land. It was so hard to leave, but I know Winter Break will be amazing. Once I got back to school, finals mode started to kick in. I had to write a reflection on the semester for my Stress Management class, and I was actually quite surprised at how much I’ve learned and how far I’ve come in controlling the stress that used to control me.

A few interesting tidbits:

– “Eustress” (coined by Hans Selye) is the positive or desirable stress that keeps life interesting and helps to motivate and inspire.

– 70-80% of doctor visits are reported to be for stress-related and stress-induced illnesses.

– “Affluenza” is the epidemic of wanting more and spending more.

And a quote I really like:

“When health is absent, wisdom cannot reveal itself, art cannot manifest, strength cannot fight, wealthy becomes useless, and intelligence cannot be applied.”                                                                                                                                                                                      -Herophilus

One final down…four more to go!

Hope everyone is having a great week 🙂

Leave a Reply

