Finals and…cleaning?

1 Dec

Today has been quite a day. It’s been extremely productive, but I’m definitely glad it’s over. This morning I presented my research on running and body image, and it felt so good to finally see everything come together.

After my presentation, I got a delicious mango smoothie with whey and did a little last minute studying for my Theoretical Principles of Health Behavior final. I think it went pretty well, and I now have two finals crossed off my list (only 3 more to go!). I also submitted my 10-page paper on social inequality & natural disasters, which is a topic I’ve been interested in since my Environmental Sociology class at Whitman. I was able to interview a Hurricane Katrina survivor while I was writing, and it gave me a completely new perspective on the topic.

With the presentation and final behind me, the paper submitted, and my scholarship application complete, it suddenly hit me that TODAY WAS THE LAST DAY OF CLASS! It feels great to be done but weird that my last final is still two weeks away. Something about finals gets me in the cleaning mode though, and I went on a complete cleaning rampage through the apartment. It’s amazing how cathartic it feels to throw things away.

Other news of the day – today is World Aids Day, and in the words of the campaign, “World AIDS Day this year is about ‘Getting to Zero.’ Zero New HIV Infections. Zero Discrimination and Zero AIDS Related Deaths.” The campus was covered in red balloons, and there was free, anonymous HIV testing at the USC Medical Center.

As if the red balloons weren’t enough of a sight, there was a gigantic fallen tree in the middle of campus that had been uprooted by the Santa Ana winds. It was one of those trees that looked like it would be there forever, and it just goes to show how truly powerful nature can be.

Slightly less important but still noteworthy, I invented a new recipe tonight – Black Bean Breakfast Burritos. Sooo delicious.

Black Bean Breakfast Burritos

  • 1 whole wheat tortilla
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/2 cup egg whites (or egg sub)
  • 2 T. shredded cheddar/jack blend
  • Handful(s) of fresh spinach
  • Fresh salsa (I used Trader Joe’s enchilada sauce because I didn’t have salsa)

Place beans in microwave safe container, and heat for approximately 2 minutes, or until hot. While the beans are cooking, scramble egg whites and spinach. Warm tortilla, and fill with beans and egg mixture. Top with cheese and salsa, wrap, and enjoy!

Off to do more cleaning and head to bed, but happy (almost) Friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

