A New Chapter

19 Dec

I don’t know if it’s hit me yet that this semester is actually over…or that I only have three more to go (and then another 8 in vet school, but who’s counting??) These last two weeks have been quite a whirlwind but also an opportunity to think about the bigger picture and the changes ahead.

Last Wednesday was my last final of the semester, Friday was my last day at 24 Hour Fitness, and Saturday was the start of a long-awaited break until the craziness starts again. On Saturday morning, Spencer and I took and long beach walk and talked about life until we couldn’t talk anymore. Sunday morning, I went on a rejuvenating 15-mile run along the San Luis River trail, and it was by far one of the best runs I’ve ever been on. The weather was perfect, I had the company of my dad on his bike, and I completely zoned out until all that was on my mind was the road ahead of me. For some reason, I ended up running a 7:46 pace, which is a personal record for that distance. That afternoon, we went to Naked Cafe in Encinitas, and I had a delicious breakfast burrito with egg whites, black beans, salsa, and avocado. It was the perfect post long-run lunch.

Otherwise, Spencer and I have been catching up on season 8 of Grey’s Anatomy (we’ve gotten through 3 episodes so far), spending afternoons in the jacuzzi, and enjoying the time to talk and be together. We’re also planning to hit the gym together in the mornings and then try out some new recipes that we’ve been eying for a while. I’m slowly coming to the realization that I don’t have to study until next year…(although my physics book might get lonely if I ignore it for that long :-P)

Leave a Reply

