X-Mas in Boulder City – Part I

24 Dec

It feels strange to be writing this…but I’m celebrating my first Christmas tomorrow! Yesterday, Spencer and I drove from San Diego to Boulder City, NV to spend the holidays with his family. I’m usually not too big on road trips, but a great 6-mile run in the morning kept me from getting antsy. We listened to Eminem Pandora and chatted about life as we wove our way through the desert, and the hours passed surprisingly quickly. We arrived in Boulder City around 5:00 pm, and after decorating the Christmas tree and visiting with Spencer’s grandpa for a little while, we sat down to a delicious homemade vegan shepherd’s pie for dinner. After dinner, we played a game of Yahtzee, and I forgot how much fun it is to sit around and play games without worrying about work or to-do lists.

This morning, we slept in later than expected, which was nice, and then headed over to the world famous Coffee Cup Cafe for breakfast. I wasn’t kidding when I said world famous – http://www.worldfamouscoffeecup.com. This place definitely fits the hole-in-the-wall with delicious food definition, and it was featured on the Food Network’s, “Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives,” show in May of 2007. I had an egg-white omelet with spinach, mushrooms, and swiss cheese, and I must say, it definitely lived up to its reputation. After breakfast, we walked around town for a bit, checked out Boulder City High School, and soaked up some desert sun. Then the girls (Spencer’s mom, grandma, aunt, and I), headed back to town for some last-minute stocking stuffers. We took a trip to the local old-fashioned candy store, which was very cute, and they had everything from candy apples and fudge to candy garters and bras. It was definitely an experience!

Later this afternoon, Spencer and I went on a BEAUTIFUL run/bike-ride through town and out towards the mountains. It was one of the best runs I’ve had recently and the best ride he’s had in a long time. I’ve been wanting to do this together for a while, and we both had an amazing time. When we got back to the house, the sun was setting over the mountains, and we stood on a hill enjoying the view for a while (until I got too cold).

Tonight we had another delicious vegan dinner – pineapple cashew quinoa with tofu and vegetable stir-fry – and it is definitely a recipe I’m planning to repeat! I never expected my first Christmas eve dinner to consist of tofu, and I was in heaven. That’s all the exciting news so far – off to bed so we can wake up and open presents! Happy Holidays 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

