Boulder City Part II – Baby’s First Christmas

25 Dec

When we arrived in Boulder City on Friday night, Spencer decided to give me one of my presents a little early – a red and blue U of A ornament, just in time for tree-decorating. He told me he had tried to find one that said “Baby’s First Christmas,” but no luck (thank goodness lol). This morning was quite an experience though. We woke up around 7:00 am and rushed to the tree, which was overflowing with presents. The Miller/Jensen family tradition includes a gift exchange, and Spencer’s mom had my name. I was soon overwhelmed with packages, and my favorites included some beautiful new jewelry from Urban Outfitters, a vegetarian cookbook, and some delicious vegan chocolate. I already tried one of the “peppermint patsies”, and it was definitely better than York patties or Junior mints. I was “randomly” given Spencer’s name, and I got him some fun old-fashioned candy from the candy shop, a shirt from the Coffee Cup, a fitness log for his new workout plan, and a spa massage at Vitality.

After present-opening, we had some vegan buckwheat pancakes with syrup and jam and fresh-squeezed orange juice – a perfect breakfast to prepare for my long run tomorrow morning. After watching the start of the NBA season, we headed to Hoover Dam and walked across the bridge that crosses over the Arizona state line. How many people can say that they’ve held hands with someone in another state? Hehe πŸ˜‰ We got back just in time for the Lakers vs. Bulls game, and I promptly fell asleep after about two minutes. I guess this semester is finally catching up to me. I woke up just in time for dinner, which was a delicious vegan lasagne, salad, and garlic bread. Yum. The lasagne was made with Daiya cheese, which I’ve wanted to try for a while, and I must say it would have fooled even the toughest cheese critic. Another great recipe to repeat at home!

After dinner, Spencer and took a beautiful walk through town and checked out all the Christmas lights. It was dark and FREEZING cold, but totally worth it. We came across a neighborhood park and decided to bring back some childhood memories on the swings. I felt a wave a nostalgia as I remembered how cathartic it feels to fly through the air.

The rest of the night has consisted of Bridesmaids, more NBA, a HOT shower, and now off to bed so we can wake up for another bike/run tomorrow. Hope everyone had a Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

