The Last 45 Hours

15 Jan

Well I’ve officially failed at blog-writing for the last few weeks…but sometimes it feels like life has a way of running away from you. I could probably fill pages with everything that happened since my last post, but here are a few highlights…

  • Spencer and I spent an amazing New Year’s at Together as One music festival for the 2nd time. It was held at Oak Canyon Park in LA, and in addition to the multiple stages and visual effects, the venue was complete with a beautiful lake in the middle.
  • I ran my favorite coast route a few times, from Swami’s beach to Del Mar, and it never fails to clear my head.
  • I spent a few days in Detroit, visiting Aunt Tobe, and she continues to stay strong, despite all she’s been through. As my dad always says, “it’s great to go and great to come home.”
  • I started physical therapy for my hip, and I discovered that the problems starts in my foot. Apparently my left foot over-pronates just slightly…but slightly enough to make my piriformis muscle angry. Time for more exercises to add to my nightly routine…I could make a full-time job out of this.
  • I looked up vet school GPAs and was reminded, yet again, that my competition is fierce…which brings to my most important point…

The last 45 hours. There are several different criterion and categories that are assessed during the application process, and in addition to the typical “overall GPA” and “science GPA” categories, there was one that stood out even more– the “last 45 hours.” This category refers to the last 45 units of coursework taken as an undergrad, and as I stared at the list, it suddenly hit me…the last 45 hours starts now. It stared back at me, as if to say, “pick me – you get a fresh start”…and I could feel my determination skyrocket.

With the first week of classes and a research fellowship application under my belt, I’m ready to kick it into gear and dominate those last 45 hours.

On the marathon front, today was our first day of practice after the break, notoriously the day of the big “drop-off.” After realizing what it takes to train for a marathon, many of our initial team members fall by the wayside, and we are left with a core group of runners who are ready to tackle the high mileage. Today’s run was supposed to start from Dockweiler beach, however the LA Half Marathon was conveniently starting from the same location…which meant massive street closures everywhere. So we regrouped and altered our route a bit, but it was still a beautiful run. Anytime you can see the ocean for 14 miles, I can’t complain 🙂

Off to study pathogens…Hope everyone has a great week 🙂

Leave a Reply

