10 More to go…

22 Jan

Miles, that is. Today was my first 16-miler since the knee injury…I can’t believe we’re already into high-mileage and coming up on our longest training run in a few weeks. This season is going by insanely fast! I ran the San Luis Ray River trail in Oceanside this morning, and it was an incredible run. The weather was perfect, and even though the way out was tough, my energy kicked in at the 9 mile mark. I ended up running a 7:51 pace, which is a PR for that distance, and I’ve been surprisingly energized all day. I definitely got into a different zone on this run…I stopped thinking about anything but the path ahead of me and the mountains in the distance, and the miles seemed to float by.

I love reading the Runner’s World Daily Quotes on long run days, so I though I would share a few of my favorites…

  • “In the midst of regular life, running is the touchstone that breathes adventure into my soul. I can feel the trail under my feet, the press of the hill, the gallop of the track, the burn of my lungs, the stir of wonder and possibility. Running reminds me that there is more to me than what is readily apparent much of the time. I don’t always need to see it, but oh how I need to know it’s there ” – Kristin Armstrong
  • “I love to go running. It’s a way for me to stay centered, to lose the stress of the world around me, and to just be present.” – Leo Babauta, The Zen of Running
  • “To succeed you have to believe in something with such a passion that it becomes a reality.” – Anita Roddick

Other news… I downloaded an amazing 3-D skeleton app, so I’m considerably more excited about my Biological and Behavioral Basis of Disease Midterm. So much better than reading the book!

Have a great week 🙂

Leave a Reply

