6 Feb

Today’s run in a nutshell…

“Records are meant to be broken, but those moments are few and far between. Every adventure offers an opportunity to evolve, explore, and celebrate life.” – Coach Jenny Hadfield

It was one of those days when my legs just did not want to move. The scenery was beautiful, the weather was amazing, and the course was flat, but for some reason it was one of the toughest runs I’ve had in a while. I’ve been lucky to break my time records for almost every distance this season, but it wasn’t happening today. I was initially frustrated by my body’s lack of cooperation but eventually decided it would be better to soak up the sun and ocean breeze than worry about my pace.

We started out running south from Dockweiler beach, but it was our lucky day, and it turned out that our route was blocked off by the Redondo Beach 10k. Ooops. This meant that we had to run 6.5 miles south and back and then another 2.5 north and back to reach the full 18. Doubling back isn’t so terrible on a shorter run, but crossing home base after 13 miles definitely takes some serious mental stamina (which I happened to be lacking today). I had been running by myself for the majority of the time, but just before the last five miles, I ran into one of my teammates, who was also having an off day. I turned my ipod off, and we starting talking…about running at first, and then life, love, and everything in between. I honestly don’t know how I would have made it through those miles, but because of her, I can say that I finished 18 today.

AND, I experimented with vegan macaroni and cheese, which turned out to be amazing. Here’s the recipe if anyone’s feeling adventurous:

Vegan Macaroni and Cheeze

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pasta
  • Fresh or frozen broccoli
  • 1/4 cup plain soymilk
  • 2 T. nutritional yeast
  • 1 T. Daiya vegan cheddar cheese

Directions:

  • Boil water and cook pasta according to directions. Throw in the broccoli during the last few minutes of cooking time.
  • When pasta is done, drain and return to pot.
  • Add soymilk, nutritional yeast, and Daiya, and mix until a “cheeze” sauce forms.
  • Season with salt and pepper.
  • Devour

Other news of the week…drank my first legal cocktail at Katsuya sushi restaurant. It was a grapefruit cosmo, and I am determined to learn how to make it.

Happy February everyone 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

