20

12 Feb

I listened to the waves mixing with the beat of my music and stared up at the sky, pretending I was running into the clouds…anything to distract me from the fact that my legs felt like lead weights. As I rounded the corner towards Dockweiler beach, I broke into a semi-sprint until I reached the rest stop and looked down at my watch. 20 miles. Success.

There is definitely something humbling about running 20 miles. No matter how many times I’ve run this distance, it always takes everything I have to finish the last few miles. The feeling is unmatched though (except for crossing the finish line of a marathon), and you are suddenly reminded that you really can do whatever you set your mind to do.

A few things I learned from today’s run…

  • Dates rolled in coconut beat out GU any day.
  • It’s a good idea to open your fruit snacks BEFORE you are hot, sweaty and in need of carbs NOW
  • Getting lost = discovering new places (and new hills)
  • New music can be just what you need to put a spring in your step at mile 16
  • Turning off the music and listening to the waves for a few minutes can remind you why you’re out there in the first place

Only one more really long run until the big 26.2…yikes!

Wishing everyone a great week 🙂 and a happy Valentine’s Day (or Singles Awareness Day…whichever you choose to celebrate)

Leave a Reply

