Adventures

11 Mar

Hello again! Sorry for the blog lag…I realize that it’s been forever since I’ve posted, and so much has happened that I honestly don’t even know where to start.

So I guess I’ll start with the biggest news…I applied for a research fellowship in Ghana this summer, and somehow I was accepted! I found out yesterday, and I’m still somewhat in shock, but I cannot begin to describe the excitement. Africa has been a far off dream of mine for a long time, and I can’t believe it’s actually happening. I will be spending five weeks designing and implementing a research project, and while I don’t know the specifics of my topic yet, it looks like it will focus on sustainable agriculture and nutrition. I leave at the end of May, so the next few months will be filled with researching, planning, packing, and taking long, hot showers while I still can.

And speaking of travel…tonight my dad and I went to the O2 for Life benefit at the Bellyup Tavern, and I was immediately filled with Costa Rica nostalgia. The room was filled with tropical plants, the band was bumping Costa Rican music, and the food table was filled with beans, rice, & caramelized plantains. The three weeks I spent in Costa Rica four years ago changed my life in unimaginable ways (including helping land the Africa fellowship!), and I have missed it since the day I left. As the music dimmed and the silent auction began, I noticed a trip to the O2 for Life Rainforest reserve listed on the auction brochure. Nestled on the Osa Peninsula and unavailable to the public, this reserve was a place of magic and beauty that I will never forget. I jokingly told my dad that he should bid…and he did…and we won! I never thought I would be able to return to the reserve, and I can’t believe that I have the opportunity to go back and share this amazing place with my family.

On the running front…the one-week countdown to the marathon has officially begun! Today was the last “long” run of the season (8 miles), and as I looked out over the coast this morning, I suddenly got extremely excited about the race.Ā  Even though this will be my fourth marathon, the challenge never grows any smaller, and I feel like I have to re-teach myself how to mentally prepare each time. Tomorrow starts taper week, and despite the minimal amount of running, I’m going to try not to fall victim to the “taper blues.” Dinners each night with friends combined with cleaning, organizing, and an overwhelming amount of studying should keep me busy enough.

PLUS, I have two new books to read! It’s been forever since I’ve picked up a good book, and on a whim, I decided to start The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Waltz This Way.

Well, that’s all the news for now…off to dive into one of these novels before I forget what it’s like to read for pleasure! šŸ™‚

Happy 1st day of spring! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

