Carbs!

19 Aug

Despite all signs pointing to a potentially awful run this morning (including but not limited to heat, humidity, and a tight hip), it was actually pretty fantastic. For some reason the heat did not seem to bother me today, and I somehow managed to run negative splits since I had tons of random energy at the end. After thinking about the strange occurrence, however, it hit me that I many have finally succeeded at the whole carb-loading phenomenon. I’ve never done a true calculated carb load, but I definitely make a concerted effort to increase my percentage of carbs in the two days leading up to a long run or race. It doesn’t always work out though, and often times I find myself “hitting the wall” long before I would like to (not that I would like to at any point – but delaying the onset it always nice.) For some reason this time was different, likely because I focused on increasing the carbs at each individual meal far more than I normally would. To top of my glycogen stores last night, I had whole wheat penne pasta topped with fresh heirloom tomato sauce…YUM.

Tomato saute with olive oil, garlic, and fresh basil

Following the run this morning, I tried a delicious new smoothie/milkshake recipe that is definitely a keeper! I used to make a something similar to this years ago, but this version is much healthier (and more delicious, too!)

Chocolate Elvis

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup Arctic Zero (chocolate PB flav0r)
  • 1 T. chocolate protein powder
  • 1 T. powdered peanut butter (I use Just Great Stuff)
  • 1/2 frozen banana

Blend all ingredients, and pour into a glass

*I topped mine with chocolate syrup too 🙂

Chocolate Elvis – super thick and delicious

The past few weeks have been a whirlwind, but a few highlights include boating in New Hampshire, running along Lake Saint Claire in Belleriver, and assisting on a canine balloon valvuloplasty.

I miss everyone at the UC Veterinary Medical Center already!

Leave a Reply

