Stressed out? Make fudge!

8 Oct

I can honestly say that I don’t think my life has ever been crazier than it is at this moment… BUT, it’s all ok because I made fudge 🙂

I’ve been brainstorming quick post-workout snack ideas for the gym/shower/run-out-the-door turnaround, and I randomly dreamed up this protein fudge recipe. It’s still in it’s initial stages and will likely undergo some revisions, but here is version number one.

Peanut Butter Banana Protein Fudge

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup coconut butter/coconut oil
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 cup powdered peanut butter
  • 1 T. granulated erythritol

Directions:

Combine coconut butter and mashed banana in a bowl. (I heated both for 10 seconds to make sure that the coconut butter didnt’ harden.) In a separate bowl, combine protein powder, powdered peanut butter, and erythritol. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until combined. Pour into a baking pan (or any type of flat container), and freeze until firm. Then devour 🙂

Nutrition Information:

*Based on 16 squares

  • Calories – 53
  • Protein – 3 g.

This week has been absolutely insane, but I did have a chance to (finally) catch up with a few of my Ghana fellows last Thursday. Sydney made a delicious eggplant curry, and we reminisced about our adventures over wine and chocolate…which brings me to…my new favorite wine glass:

She had a different jar for everyone – cute AND eco-friendly!

So creative!

Parking lot shenanigans

 

Well this was a lovely break, but I’m off to read about telomerase and replisomes. YAY! I hope everyone has a great week 🙂

Oh, and one more thing…For anyone in the LA area looking for an amazing night of dancing, come to Paso de Oro’s Blue Room event on October 20th! We will have salsa and bachata lessons from 8:00 pm – 10:00 pm, followed by social dancing from 10:00 pm – 2:00 am. Here is the link to the event page:

PDO Blue Room

Be there… It will be epic!

3 Responses to “Stressed out? Make fudge!”

  1. Lemons 'n Lyme October 8, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    This looks so good! Did you use coconut oil or coconut butter? Or does it work with both? I feel like it would work well with either one

    • marathonmeg22 October 8, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

      Thanks girl! They actually turned out better than expected haha. I used virgin coconut oil, but I’m sure coconut butter would work, too. Which one do you usually bake with?

      • Lemons 'n Lyme October 8, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

        Yeah, it probably would… it would make them sweeter so you might be able to cut out the erythritol. Anyway, I use coconut oil when baking and cooking. Coconut butter is really good for making icings/spreads/eating out of the jar :). I’ve seen it used in one or two recipes before (dessert pudding type dishes).

Leave a Reply

