Escape…and Cake

30 Oct

Hi everyone!

I apologize for my lack of blogging, but I’m hoping to post more often from here on out (plus, I have tons of new recipes to share!)

The craziness does not seem to die down for a second, but tonight I took a much-needed break and escaped to Urth Caffe with Sydney. It was wonderful to catch up, and we reminisced about rainstorms, warthogs, and of course, our beloved bucket showers. Ghana already seems like a lifetime ago.

I can’t believe it’s already October, and the official Marathon Team season is kicking into gear! On the running front, I finally met with the athletic trainer and discovered that my nagging knee “strangeness” is just residual tightness from my IT band injury last year. There hasn’t been any pain, but I’ve been trying to steer clear of another 6 months on the couch…so I’ve been taking it easy. The athletic trainer gave me permission to start up again though, and I’m armed with a new set of exercises to strengthen the major running muscles. Hopefully, I will be back to my coaching duties within the next few weeks.

Today was one of those days that left me feeling like finding a small crevice to crawl into…but since there aren’t any of those around, I decided to make a cake. A delicious, gooey, chocolatey cake-in-mug. It was delicious, and it satisfied both my chocolate and crevice cravings.

Chocolate Cake-in-a-Mug (after I took it out of the mug)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chocolate Cake-in-a-Mug

Ingredients:

  • 2 T. spelt flour
  • 2 T. chocolate protein powder (I used whey)
  • 1-2 tsp granulated erythritol (or coconut sugar)
  • 1  tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 T. unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 T. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 T. egg whites/egg substitute (omit and add 1 more T. almond milk for vegan version)
  • 1 tsp. coconut oil
  • 1 tsp. dark chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine dry ingredients (spelt flour through salt) in a small bowl and wet ingredients (almond milk through coconut oil) in a separate small bowl. Mix until just combined, and fold in chocolate chips. Spray a coffee mug with cooking spray, and pour batter into mug. Bake for 15-18 minutes, depending on how gooey you like your cake. (Less time = lava cake, more time = birthday cake).

Insert spoon into mug. Insert cake into mouth. Repeat. 🙂

Nutrition Info:

  • Serving size – 1 cake
  • Calories – 190

Happy Monday! (or Tuesday rather, given that it’s 1:42 am). Hope everyone has a great week!

 

 

2 Responses to “Escape…and Cake”

  1. Wendy October 30, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    How nice to be able to satisfy both your chocolate and your crevice craving in one mug!

Leave a Reply

