Halloween…and Green

2 Nov

Happy (belated) Halloween!

Whether you stayed in and watched movies, handed out candy (and scared small children), or braved the party scene, hopefully it was an enjoyable night for all. I went out for dinner and drinks with a friend at Anthology, and then we went to investigate the downtown club scene. It was definitely an interesting experience, and we saw some rather…ummm, unique costumes, but we had a great time!

Cats take on downtown

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even our drinks are Halloween-y

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today, on the other hand, has been of those days where just about every possible thing has gone wrong :(. At 10:00 pm, I realized I was starving and still hadn’t made dinner, but I honestly just didn’t feel like cooking…which is where my brilliant green plan comes into play. I’ve been reading about the concept of Green Monsters on several blogs, but I’ve always been too afraid to try one. I was feeling bold tonight though, so I decided to give it a shot. Despite it’s strange color, this drink was DELICIOUS! Just like pumpkin pie in a glass 🙂

Heaven in a glass

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pumpkin Pie Green Monster

Inspired by Oh She Glows

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (not pie filling)
  • 1/2 cup Arctic Zero (I used Maple Vanilla), or non-dairy ice cream for vegan version
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 T. vanilla protein powder
  • 1-2 cups fresh spinach
  • Dash of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves (or pumpkin pie spice)

Directions:

Place all ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth and creamy. Pour into glass, don’t think about the fact that it’s green, and enjoy. 🙂

Nutrition Info:

Serving Size – 1 smoothie

Calories – 200

I topped mine with Kashi GoLean Crunch cereal and unsweetened coconut flakes. YUM 🙂

Don’t believe me???? Your loss…

Leave a Reply

